SAO MIGUEL. AZORES Azores Islands are considered an ultra peripheral region of the European Union. The archipelago is formed of 9 islands 1500 km away from Portugal. Sao Miguel is the biggest island consisting of 747 square kms and Corvo the smallest totaling 17 square kms. This place belonging to the Macaronesia shares characteristics with the rest of north archipelagos, even though its origin is volcanic as we can see in it’s cones and craters, it’s exterior appearance has nothing to do with the dry and lunar landscape. This conditions the underwater context. In the depth one can see the volcanic rocks and craters as well as fumarolas. The mixture of gasses and steam goes through the cracks.